ONDM2007                IFIP               ephotonlogo1               logocost

ONDM 2007 Call for Papers (PDF version)

11th Conference on Optical Network Design and Modelling


May 29-31, 2007, Athens (Greece)


Over the last years it became clear that optical networks will become the central networking infrastructure of the Information-based Economy and Society. The recent advances in WDM technology retransformed our notion about networking layers and offered new design options to network operators and designers. While IP is becoming the dominant protocol for data, voice and video services, the growth in data traffic exceeds the growth in processing capabilities of electronic routers; this has raised a number of issues concerning the integration of IP routing functionalities with the optical transport platform. New optimized network architectures, transport protocols, routing and traffic engineering, as well as network provisioning techniques, are sought by service providers to be able to establish on demand high capacity circuits that can carry large volumes of traffic in a cost-efficient way.

The purpose of the ONDM conference is to address recent advances in the design, modeling and implementation of optical networks, including novel switching schemes and paradigms, network optimization and design, new concepts for link and control layer protocols, advanced network subsystems and node architectures, and network inter-working schemes.

ONDM 2007 is sponsored by the International Federation of Information Processing IFIP (http://www.ifip.tu-graz.ac.at/TC6/).

Additionally, the conference is supported by the

Main Topics

  • Optical network performance modeling
  • Optical network planning and design
  • Network reconfiguration and restoration techniques
  • Novel architectures for wavelength routers (optical nodes)
  • Multi-layer design of optical networks
  • Self-healing SDH loops
  • Optical integrated circuits
  • Applications for all-optical network infrastructures
  • WDM inter-working with IP networks
  • GMPLS optical switching nodes
  • Optical network management
  • Signaling for all-optical networks
  • Measurement, monitoring and supervision techniques
  • Optical network performance monitoring
  • Optical multicasting
  • Call admission control and QoS- awareness in optical networks
  • Routing and wavelength assignment algorithms
  • Photonic-based end-to-end communication protocols
  • Optical data networking
  • Optical packet/burst switching (OBS/OPS)
  • Optical Time Division Multiplexing (OTDM) systems
  • Soliton-based networks
  • Access networks designs and protocols.
  • Metro/access interface - architectures technologies and protocols enabling transparency
  • MAC protocols for optical LANs and MANs
  • High speed optical LANs and gigabit Ethernet
  • All-optical access networks
  • Evolution of metro networks: technical, economic and migration studies
  • Field trials and experiments
  • Optical interfaces and optical terminals
  • Inter-working between optical and wireless networks
  • Optical architectures for grid applications
  • Modelling and design methodologies for optical grid networks
  • Standardization and economic comparisons

Important Deadlines
  • December 22, 2006   January 15, 2006: Original full-length unpublished paper due.
  • February 23, 2007    March 15, 2007: Notification of acceptance of the paper.
  • March 23, 2007: Final camera-ready manuscript due.
  • Conference dates: May 29-31, 2007.

Author Guidelines

High-quality original papers are solicited in full length of 6 to 10 single-spaced pages (in English). (Please note that due to the specific format used in this conference, a 3-page paper in IEEE format is almost equivalent to 6-pages).

Information and author guidelines regarding the paper layout can be found in:


A Microsoft word draft version with guidelines can be downloaded from here:


Also information about users using LaTeX can be found in the first URL above.

Submissions must include: title, authors, affiliations, abstract, and a list of maximum five keywords. The author responsible for correspondence should be identified, including mailing address, telephone and fax numbers, and e-mail address.

All papers will be subject to a full review process carried out by the Technical Program Committee members and other experts active in the field to ensure quality and relevance. At least one of the authors of an accepted paper will be expected to attend the conference and present the work.

The conference proceedings will be published as hard-copy and electronically by Springer Verlag, Heidelberg, Germany, in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) Series, which will be available during the event.

Authors are requested to submit their paper electronically through EDAS:


In case you have any problems or questions regarding submission please contact:

Dr. Dimitrios Klonidis, AIT, Greece
e-mail: dikl@ait.gr


Information regarding registration, accommodation and transportation will be available at the ONDM 2007 web site.

Organizing committee

Steering Committee:

Andrea Bianco, PoliTo, Italy

Tibor Cinkler, BUTE, Hungary

Maurice Gagnaire, ENST, France

Admela Jukan, U. of Illinois, USA

Ken-ichi Kitayama, Osaka U., Japan

Biswanath Mukherjee, UC Davis, USA

Fabio Neri, PoliTo, Italy

Achille Pattavina, PoliMi, Italy

Mario Pickavet, IBBT, Belgium

Roberto Sabella, Ericsson, Italy

Josep Solé-Pareta, UPC, Spain

Alexandros Stavdas, NTUA, Greece

Ioannis Tomkos, AIT, Greece

Conference Co-Chairs:

Ioannis Tomkos, AIT, Greece.

Fabio Neri, PoliTo, Italy.

Local organizing Committee:

Dimitrios Klonidis, Stelios Sygletos, AIT, Greece.

Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs

Josep Solé-Pareta, Sergi Sánchez-López and Xavier Masip-Bruin, UPC, Catalunya, Spain.

Technical Program Committee

Javier Aracil (UAM)

Bela Berde (Alcatel)

Keren Bergman (Columbia)

Franco Callegati (UniBO)

Tibor Cinkler (BUTE)

George Ellinas (UoCyprus)

Jafar Elmirghani (UoSwansea)

Hans-Martin Foisel (T-Systems)

Andrea Fumagalli (UTD)

Ken-ichi Kitayama (Osaka U.)

Andrew Lord (BT)

Mike O'Mahony (UoEssex)

Carmen Mas (TUM)

Branko Mikac (TELFER)

Eytan Modiano (MIT)

Biswanath Mukherjee (UC Davis)

Harry Perros (NCSU)

Mario Pickavet (IBBT)

Byrav Ramamurthy (UNL)

JuneKoo Kevin Rhee (ICU, Ko.)

James Roberts (Orange - FT)

Sebastia Sallent (UPC - i2CAT)

Dominic Schupke (Siemens)

Dimitra Simeonidou (UoEssex)

Suresh Subramaniam (GWU)

Kyriakos Vlachos (UoPatras)

Evi Zouganeli (Telenor)